Front cover sketch

front cover sketch

Here is a quick sketch i made of my initial ideas on how i want my front cover to look like. I particularly like the way that Billboard magazine position their title behind the models head and have the last 3 or so letter coloured in. This was a feature i have wanted to replicate from the beginning and is something you will definatley see featured in my cover. Also it looks unique and different which is what i want to go for. I will have the image central with a callout of Sara’s name slightly below the fold as all of my style models have this feature. I will then have column inch’s around the image related to my magazine along with a few puff’s to add detail and colour.

I’ve decided upon an ingenious design element for my title. Turning the D of Unplugged into an actual plug, and positioning it to like its been unplugged from the E… I’m thinking the imagery within the title will help to create a brand for my magazine, an iconic design that readers will relate my magazine with. I may use this design element throughout the magazine somewhat as a logo.

I was debating whether to use a simplistic, black and white colour scheme, or try and work in some colour, but nothing too showy or in your face.  As these are just ideas, I’m not certain on this layout, but I’m pretty sure I would like to include the ripped effect as it helps to break up the cover into an interesting sub-section.

I’m not really decided on much else at this point, I’m starting to think about the sell lines, and I’m considering my photo shoot work and what model to use… Decisions decisions…

One comment

  1. sheldonschoolmediateacher2014 · February 18, 2015

    Well done, Leah – there’s a lot to like on this blog, especially with the qualitative comments made about your photo-shoot images. You’re currently headed for a level 3 mark as long as you do the following:
    – Go back and fill the gaps where you have indicated
    – Upload finished front cover
    – Organise a second photoshoot for your contents page
    – Complete additional research on contents pages, paying attention to the way artists are represented.
    Have a good half term, JRG

    Like

Leave a comment